Mean Green and awesome to read


I’ve just finished my Hulk marathon and I’m blown away.  Planet Hulk and World War Hulk made for an entertaining weekends reading.  Greg Pak has revitalised the character for me.  For a long time the mean green had become for me a disappointing comic that traded on past success.  Well not anymore.  The series blends what is best with the Hulk of old and throws in the good bits of Conan and John Carter of Mars.  Its a rip roaring testosterone soaked adventure and I found myself loving every minute of it.  Don’t get me wrong the writing had flaws ( you could tell that Hulk and Caiera would end up together from the clumsy tension when they first locked heads) but its the kind of story where you strap yourself in for the ride and ignore the occasional bump.  World War Hulk just offers more of the same and it has to be said it was worth seeing all those overly smug heroes taken down by the ultimate grouch.  Now it’s out in prestige format its worth shelling out to have it all in one place, your bookshelf.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

